Grain industry awards nearly $30,000 in scholarships to Kansas students For 2024-25 Academic Year

2024 KGFA Scholarship Winners

Grain industry awards nearly $30,000 in scholarships to Kansas students For 2024-25 Academic Year

To assist in combatting the rising cost of higher education, Kansas Grain and Feed Association’s (KGFA) scholarship program awarded nearly $30,000 in total to 19 of the state’s graduating high school seniors for the 2024-25 academic year. 

The scholarship committee, comprised of KGFA’s membership, received more than 250 applications and granted the 19 awards based on merit and equitable geographic locations throughout the state.

“Our board of directors and scholarship committee understand the importance of introducing the next generation to our industry and association as early as possible,” KGFA’s president and CEO Ron Seeber said. “We are proud to support the education of our future workforce’s emerging leaders and we wish them the best of luck in their studies.”

KGFA annually awards 18 scholarships worth $1,500 and administers the Dub and Inez Johnson $500 memorial scholarship fund.

Students must be a graduating Kansas high school senior, a self-starter with excellent academic credentials, good school and community citizens and show a strong desire to continue their education. They also must be planning to attend any Kansas four-year university, community college or technical school.

KGFA has assisted countless students pursue their education since 1976. The industry’s 2024 award recipients are listed below:

$1,500 KGFA Scholarship Recipients

Brock Armstrong – Frankfort

Tessa Befort – Hays

Aidan Conrad – Osborne

Hope Crabtree – Mayetta

Bethany DeDonder – Admire

Ian Dunn – St. John

Dominique Girard – Salina

Doak Guttery – Alton

Aubree Hanna – Penokee

Henry Holle – Oberlin

Maddy Krueger – Bennington

Rose Latta – Marysville

Jaelynn Peintner – Cheney

Douglas Peterson – Topeka

Ty Scheer – Garden Plain

Reygan Schrock – Brookville

Kaden Weltmer – Smith Center

Avery Ziegler – WaKeeney

Dub and Inez Johnson Memorial Scholarship Recipient

Bo Watkins – Kingman