Grain industry awards nearly $30,000 in scholarships to Kansas students

2023 KGFA Scholarship Winners

Grain industry awards nearly $30,000 in scholarships to Kansas students

To assist in combatting the rising cost of higher education, Kansas Grain and Feed Association’s (KGFA) scholarship program awarded nearly $30,000 in total to 19 of the state’s graduating high school seniors for the 2023-24 academic year. 

The scholarship committee, comprised of KGFA’s membership, received more than 300 applications and granted the 19 awards based on merit and equitable geographic locations throughout the state.

“Our board of directors and scholarship committee understand the importance of introducing the next generation to our industry and association as early as possible,” KGFA’s president and CEO Ron Seeber said. “We are proud to support the education of our future workforce’s emerging leaders and we wish them the best of luck in their studies.”

KGFA annually awards 18 scholarships worth $1,500 and administers the Dub and Inez Johnson $500 memorial scholarship fund. 

Students must be a graduating Kansas high school senior, a self-starter with excellent academic credentials, good school and community citizens and show a strong desire to continue their education. They also must be planning to attend any Kansas four-year university, community college or technical school. KGFA has assisted countless students pursue their education since 1976. The industry’s 2023 award recipients are listed below:

KGFA Scholarships $1,500 Recipients

  • Peyton Augustine – Salina
  • Harrison Bhend – Goodland
  • Cordell Brown – Wallace
  • Elijah Brunk – Windom
  • Morgan Carson – Hutchinson
  • Brenna Chism – Olathe
  • Brynn Collier – Mound City
  • Conner Dinkel – Hill City
  • Tyree Figge – Onaga
  • Cheyenne Hittle – Mayetta
  • Michael Houseman – Wichita
  • Kaleb Jaquez – Ulysses
  • Addalyn Kopp – Hiawatha
  • Jeret Nichols – Pleasanton
  • Riley Showalter – Wakarusa
  • Carissa Sohm – Rolla
  • Emily Stamper – Plainville
  • Ainsley Viets – Girard

Dub and Inez Johnson Memorial Scholarship Recipient

  • Trey DeWeese – Cunningham