KGFA and KARA select 20th class of Tomorrow’s Agribusiness Leaders

posted in: Uncategorized | 0
The 2017 TAL Class

Kansas Grain and Feed Association (KGFA) and Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association (KARA) announced the 20th class of the annual Tomorrow’s Agribusiness Leaders Program (TAL) Friday afternoon.

The 2018 TAL class representing KGFA are: Nathan Beachner, Beachner Grain, Inc.; Brandon Dills, Co-Mark Equity Alliance; Colby Gantz, D.E. Bondurant Grain Co., Inc.; Ryan Jones, Offerle Cooperative Grain and Supply Co.,; and Taylor Martin, Team Marketing Alliance.

Representing KARA are: David Abel, Valley Coop; Lucas Hamm, Mid Kansas Coop; Brandon Otto, B.Z. Bee, Inc.; Jason Sutterby, MFA Inc./Ag Choice; and Rick Vrbas, BASF.

“This year is the 20-year milestone for this premiere leadership program and once again, for two decades now, the TAL class represents the best and brightest in the industry,” KGFA and KARA president and CEO Ron Seeber said.

TAL is broken into three distinct sessions throughout the calendar year. The first, Session I in January, is an introduction to the legislative and regulatory arena in Kansas with face-to-face interaction with legislative leaders and the Kansas Department of Agriculture.

In July for Session II, the class will travel to Washington, D.C., to have personal visits with the Kansas Congressional Delegation on Capitol Hill and visit national agribusiness associations, while also touring historical sites.

The class hones leadership skills in September’s third and final session before graduating a few short months later at the Kansas Agri Business Expo.

A jointly-sponsored initiative of KGFA and KARA, the intensive leadership development program is designed to teach the associations’ members about the state and federal legislative and regulatory process. Participants also gain valuable leadership traits by completing the program.

Applicants are selected by the TAL Alumni Selection Committee based upon who it believes will gain the most from completing the program and who has the most to offer their respective associations. The Alumni Selection Committee is comprised of representatives from previous TAL classes.